Coronavirus And The Gulf Economies: Online Discussion

62

ONLINE EVENT – Discussion on how the Gulf states should respond to the economic consequences of the coronavirus pandemic.

As the coronavirus pandemic shocks the globe, the Gulf states face potential long-term economic challenges. Perhaps the most prominent one is the fall in the price of oil, on which the Gulf economies have long depended. Others include decimated private sectors, an uncertain future for tourism, and accelerating geopolitical competition between the United States and China. All this suggests that the Gulf’s economies will struggle long after the coronavirus crisis abates.

On Thursday, April 9, at 10.30PM UAE (2:30 p.m. EDT or 9:30 p.m. AST), please join the Atlantic Council’s Middle East Programs and Reconnaissance Research for a discussion on the economic challenges the Gulf states face and how they can overcome them.

To watch please visit: https://www.atlanticcouncil.org/event/coronavirus-and-the-gulf-economies/

Speakers

Nawaf Al-Abduljader
Professor of Management
College of Business Administration
Kuwait University

Jonathan Fulton
Nonresident Senior Fellow, Middle East Programs
Atlantic Council

Mohsin Khan
Nonresident Senior Fellow, Middle East Programs
Atlantic Council

Saud Asaad Al-Thaqeb
Assistant Professor of Finance
College of Business Administration
Kuwait University

Moderated by

Kirsten Fontenrose
Director, Scowcroft Middle East Security Initiative
Atlantic Council


About Atlantic Council: Driven by our mission of “shaping the global future together,” the Atlantic Council is a nonpartisan organization that galvanizes US leadership and engagement in the world, in partnership with allies and partners, to shape solutions to global challenges.

Leave a Reply